Copyright © 2019  All Rights Reserved.

Web design: Robert S. Kopec

2018 San Francisco Fringe Festival

Audience Reviews

for

Tolerance?!

as posted in ​http://www.theexit.org/reviews/tolerance/

Irma Herrera on September 13, 2018 at 6:00 pm said:

 

Tolerance is an informative and entertaining show, so glad I saw it. I spent 15 years leading a women’s legal advocacy group in SF, among our clients were tradeswomen, so I learned quite a bit about the challenges women face working in the trades. Kathleen exudes pride in the work she does, she introduces us to co-workers who are welcome and others who are hostile. It’s a slice of life we all should see. Her finely drawn characters are very believable. And the lessons we take with us after seeing her show are applicable in other worksites: anytime an “outsider” enters an environment where they are the first or among a few there are always challenges, whether its a Chicana lawyer at a law firm or a black doctor teaching at a medical school. Some folks go out of their way to remind you that you don’t belong and others are welcoming allies. Well done, Kathleen, look forward to seeing more of your work.

Jo Tomalin on September 12, 2018 at 6:56 pm said:

 

Compelling performance – fascinating story! Read my review here
http://fringereview.co.uk/review/san-francisco-fringe/2018/tolerance/


Listen to my Interview with Kathleen Denny about creating her show here
http://fringereview.co.uk/audio-interviews/general/2018/union-machinist-and-air-transport-mechanic-tells-her-story-jo-tomalin-talks-to-kathleen-denny-about-creating-her-solo-show/

Harriet Patterson on September 12, 2018 at 2:47 pm said:

 

Really enjoyed this glimpse of life for a woman working inside an aircraft machine shop full of men. Kathleen Denny shines a light on the sexual harassment woman have historically faced in predominantly-male industries and I appreciated this story which still has so much resonance today. Her authenticity as the teller of this story drew me in and as the story unfolded I felt disbelief and outrage right alongside her. Nice work!

 

 

Lisa Rothman on September 12, 2018 at 9:54 am said:

 

I found this show heartening and its central metaphor compelling. I’m grateful for the women like Kathleen Denny who take huge risks to create space for others.

 

Sherri Rose on September 11, 2018 at 7:46 am said:

 

With only a small stage and herself, Denny paints a vivid picture of a vast machine shop and the characters who inhabit it. At its heart this solo show asks a fundamental question: What would you do to be accepted by the crowd? And each character has a very different answer!

Jeremy on September 9, 2018 at 7:49 pm said:

 

Great story telling. Engaging and earnest. I left thinking about all the different ways in which there’s a much wider tolerance for men than women.

 

Sharon Mabel on September 9, 2018 at 10:58 am said:

 

Complex and gripping story of a woman working in airplane maintenance — as a minority, how much should she fight back when men say she’s being “Intolerant” of their “office decorations.” Great insight and humor, and I walked out feeling good about people.

Angela Chan on September 8, 2018 at 4:25 pm said:

 

Kathleen is a great storyteller and a polished performer. Her body language portrays so many characters convincingly. Her struggles to be treated equally and respected as the only woman in the factory is an inspiration. Ask to see her micrometer!

 

Robin Epstein on September 6, 2018 at 11:52 am said:

 

Denny’s engaging, thought provoking story might leave you wondering about the limits of tolerance….

Houston Robertson on September 4, 2018 at 9:44 am said:

 

Tolerance is on target. Kathleen Denny’s performance is inspiring, amusing, and authentic. A must see.

Jill Vice on August 30, 2018 at 9:24 pm said:

 

I have seen this piece in workshop and am very excited to see it in full here at the SF Fringe! As a woman in the workplace myself, Kathleen’s story really resonates with me on so many levels. A strong writer and performer, you are in for a treat!